Korean Food blog

Food + Soju + Good Times

Blacksmith’s Oven Pizza

Last week some coworkers and I checked out Blacksmith’s Oven Pizza, regarded by many as the best pizza in Korea.

NOTE:  this is NOT the new chain of Italian restaurants (by Cafe Bene) that are sprouting all around Seoul.

It’s located on a small side street in Insa-dong (인사동) and they don’t even have a sign on the building or a logo on the door.  It’s a very small restaurant and reservations are a must!

The counter/kitchen and the oven.  It’s not a brick oven but it must generate some serious heat because the pizzas came out very fast.

I think they are going for an eclectic, vintage look with the interior.  All the lights and candles make the space feel warm and cozy.  This place would be perfect for a date on a cold snowy night.

They have about 6 different pizzas, 1 calzone, 1 salad, and some drinks.  A concise and simple menu, I like that.

The gorgonzola cheese pizza (KRW 16,000) was really great!  They piled on a mild gorgonzola and I thought it was the perfection balance of saltiness and the “bite” you get from a bleu cheese.  In Korea they always give you honey with gorgonzola cheese pizza, do they do that in other places?  It’s actually not a bad combination but here the pizza was so good, nobody bothered with the honey.

The calzone pizza (KRW 20,000) was respectable but I thought it was bland.  Since a calzone has twice the amount of bread it needs extra seasoning and that’s why they usually give you extra sauce on the side, but not here.

The rucola pizza (KRW 18,000) was my least favorite of the 3 pizzas.  So many Italian restaurants in Korea have these “salad” pizzas and I think its absolute non-sense.  The foliage they pile on top adds no value to the overall taste of the pizza.  It makes it a mess to eat, forcing you to use a knife and fork, and we all know pizza should be eaten with your hands.

Overall I think this place knows what they are doing and they make a good pie, but I am very curious to know where they learned their pizza.  It’s not the thin crispy New York street slice, it’s not the deep dish Chicago style, and it’s not the fancy artisanal pizzas they got in L.A.  It’s kind of like the pizza you get at the bowling alley but made fresh (not frozen) and done very well.

The gorgonzola was easily the best pizza I have had in Korea and in my top 10 list of all time.  Trust me, I have eaten ALOT of pizza and I consider good pizza to be an art form.  If I had to rate this place just on the gorgonzola I would give it a 9 but they have 5 other types of pizzas and based on the calzone and that silly salad pizza . . .

Rating:  7 out of 10.

Blacksmith’s Oven Pizza (대장장이 화덕피자):  02-765-4298

http://www.wingspoon.com/seoul/samcheongdong/daejangjangi_hwadeokpijajib/index.nhn

9 comments on “Blacksmith’s Oven Pizza

  1. sae
    March 27, 2012

    Looks like cheese over kill! and i think the pizza could have used a few more minutes in the oven. I would have loved to check this place out when I was in korea. was dying for a decent pizza.

  2. Lynn Hwang
    March 27, 2012

    Omg

  3. munchkin
    March 27, 2012

    Gorgonzola- 9 out of 10 definately!!

  4. jeongran
    April 3, 2012

    이번주에 가볼예정임 고르곤졸라먹으러 ㅋ 감사감사:)

  5. Katie Magerina
    April 26, 2012

    i’m thinking about going there with my friends soon, how many pizza do you think we should order for 4 people?

    • yongyi80
      April 26, 2012

      2 pizzas for 4 girls would be perfect but with guys that might be alittle short. When I went it was me and 3 girls, we ordered 2 pizzas and 1 calzone and we had 1/2 a pizza left over. And please order the gorgonzola pizza! it was fantastic!

  6. Brendon Carr
    August 19, 2012

    Koreans subscribe, to a man, to the belief that char on bread will give one cancer, perhaps before the meal is finished. For this reason they don’t like dark toast at all. It’s why Quiznos struggled until they gave up on toasting the bread. (Toasting the bread is Quiznos’ unique selling proposition in the United States.)

    I’ve not been able to find a brick, coal, or clay-oven pizza place in Korea that properly chars the crust. Even when I specifically instruct them (I speak Korean well) what to do, the cook never has the nerve to give me that which I’ve specifically demanded. Perhaps they think I’m insane and have a death wish.

    The restaurant company which operates the Butcher’s Cut steakhouses is opening a pizzeria concept called “Cotto”. On the website they display pictures of wonderfully-blackened pizza crusts. I am sure they’ll be serving them that way the first week or so before customer pushback makes them pull the pizzas out prematurely.

  7. a
    December 29, 2012

    I just saw someone carrying a Black Smith pizza box here in Bucheon and googled it because the box looked distinctive. Googled it, but can’t find anything about a location in Bucheon… do you know if they do, or if they have a website?
    I guess it’s possible it was leftovers she took home from Seoul. but I didn’t think Koreans did that much.

  8. mygg wfive
    June 15, 2013

    Easily best pizza in Seoul. The guy who started it learn hi pizza-craft in Naples. I think he said he spent 8 years there making pies. Great stuff. have to strongly disagree with your comments about the rucola pizza (my fave). That’s coming to Seoul straight from Italy… not a so-called “salad pizza.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2012 by in Insa-dong, Pizza, Rating 7.

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 197,059 hits
