Korean Food blog

Food + Soju + Good Times

Lobster @ Sausalito in Insa-dong

Tucked away in the back streets of Insa-dong (인사동) is Sausalito, a very small restaurant that only does lobster.  I read about this place on another blog and the pictures looked so good I brought my aunt and niece for dinner.

The restaurant setup and the menu is very simple, the owner picks a lobster for you (usually 1kg or 2.2lbs for two people) and then you decide if you want it steamed, baked with butter, or both.  The pricing is KRW100,000 for 1kg and KRW10,000 for each additional 0.1 kg, i.e. 1.3 kg = KRW 130,000.

You get a bunch of side dishes as you are waiting for your lobster to come out.  The soft tofu was very creamy and fresh, the buttered mushrooms were surprising tasty (butter!), and the sliced giant clams (the triangular pieces) were delicious.

And then the pièce de résistance!

I loved how they cut and separated every part of the lobster, literally nothing goes to waste.  Half the lobster was steamed and half was baked but there was no difference in taste, appearance or texture.  And sad to say but the lobster meat was not sweet or juicy, it just tasted very plain.  Either the lobster was not fresh or it was overcooked.

See above for the dipping sauces; mayo, wasabi mayo, seasoned soy sauce, and a kind of salsa.  Being an American, I asked for some melted butter which they readily provided, but even with the butter the lobster still did not taste great.  I think it goes to show, just how much butter they use in the states.

After you’re done eating the lobster meat, the owner comes to your table with some rice, sesame seed oil, and flying fish roe to mix with the lobster innards.  The mixed rice was also lackluster, I wish he would have thrown it into the oven with some butter and cheese.

The bill came out to KRW130,000, which is on the expensive side, so looking back I was not satisfied with the meal.  All they did was steam the lobster, cut it up and serve it with some sauces; almost like a glorified shrimp cocktail.  Where was the cooking?  I wish they would have baked the lobster with butter and bread crumbs and served it hot out the oven.  For 1/3 of the price, you could get a lobster tail entree at any of the hotel restaurants and it would taste 10x better.

Rating:  6 out of 10

Sausalito (소살리토바닷가재):  02-720-5077

http://map.naver.com/local/siteview.nhn?code=11592702

5 comments on “Lobster @ Sausalito in Insa-dong

  1. Karen
    March 29, 2012

    That is probably the prettiest lobster presentation that I have ever seen. I live in New England where the lobster may have come from but I would never have this lovely of a presentation where I live.

    • yongyi80
      March 29, 2012

      More than that, I think it’s great that nothing goes to waste!

  2. d'liteful cravings
    May 4, 2012

    Wow, the meal looked great but you didn’t enjoy it. We love lobster and would like to try some…looks lovely though.

    You eat at the most interesting places! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Saylor's Restuarant
    August 5, 2015

    Well! I love lobster but after read this blog, I am just crazy about it. You have share this! Thanks for that

  4. saylorrest
    August 17, 2015

    I love Lobsters and I once tasted at Saylor’s Restaurant in San Francisco. Well! thanks for reminding me my favorite Lobsters.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2012 by in Insa-dong, Rating 6, Seafood.

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 192,728 hits
