Korean Food blog

Food + Soju + Good Times

Charcoalo – American style BBQ

Charcoalo is an American style BBQ restaurant that recently opened in Apgujung.  On first impression I loved the red freight car “building”, it really stands out in design and color.  Also, the interior is much bigger than you would expect and they have a working bathroom.

I thought the design concept of the menu was great but it was confusing.  If you can’t read the description written in Korean, then its hard to tell what exactly it is based on the english name.  In total there were 3 pages of food menu and another page for drinks.  After like 15 minutes, I pretty much gave up and ordered one of the sandwiches on the first page.

Iced americano (KRW 7,000)

Diet coke (KRW 5,000).  Are you kidding me???  This really pissed me off.

Coleslaw (KRW 4,000).  It was horrible, the only thing I tasted was vinegar.  I ate two bites and did not touch it again.

4 cheese macaroni & cheese (KRW 9,000).  It is absurd that they would serve this watery mess.

Philly Cheese Steak (KRW 19,000).  As you can see from the last picture, there is so little meat compared to the bread.  The meat actually tasted very good and considering they are charging you $20, they should be ashamed of themselves.  The fries were nice and crispy, double fried, similar to Burger King.

Bacon Cheese & Sausage Doggy Style (KRW 13,000).  The sausage was very good, it had some jalapenos mixed in, it was wrapped in a nice smokey thick cut bacon.  Koreans love corn and I’m becoming a big fan too.  Dare I say, I don’t mind corn on my pizza, it adds a subtle sweetness.

Overall its a good-looking restaurant and fun menu but it is way overpriced.  People will come and check it out because it’s new and different, but I highly doubt they will have many repeat customers.  The meats in both sandwiches were very good, which makes me curious about their BBQ meats, ribs, steaks, etc.  But $40 for a full slab of ribs, and knowing Korea they will most likely be very skinny, I don’t think I will pay that kind of money.

Rating:  6 out of 10

Charcoalo (차콜로):  02-515-3983 in Apgujung near CineCity CGV.

http://www.wingspoon.com/spotDetail.nhn?cityId=3339&townId=3407&spotId=534209

5 comments on “Charcoalo – American style BBQ

  1. Anonymous
    April 30, 2012

    kinda want to check this place out, but those cole slaw & mac & cheese pictures are just so wrong…

  2. diydumpling
    May 5, 2012

    Cheaper to get a smoker and smoke your own meats. I highly recommend just doing it yourself!

  3. diydumpling
    November 11, 2012

    I think a more accurate comment might be, “Koreans really just know about Korean food.” You might want to avoid blanket, offensive statements like “Koreans really have no clue…” I take offense to it.

  4. yongyi80
    November 12, 2012

    I had to delete the previous comment, it was straight ignorant.

  5. Judson Wright
    March 12, 2013

    So I tried this place for Valentine’s Day and I thought it was amazing. Sure, it’s pricey, but it’s Apgujeong. I had a steak that was probably the best I’ve had in Korea (having been here several years). The ribs were also great, and definitely had an “American” BBQ flavor, though not quite as meaty as I would have preferred. The fries were excellent, the mac n’ cheese wasn’t amazing, but we finished them off without any qualms. We also ended up with some of the cheese fries – not shabby, but I think just the same sauce as the mac n’ cheese. Overall, it was one of the more authentic “American” meals I’ve had (considering), and definitely satiated a “meat” fix.

    Going back soon to try out some of the other items on the menu! Good thing I’m not a fan of cole slaw… 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2012 by in American, Apgujung, Burgers, Meat, Rating 6.

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 197,059 hits
