Korean Food blog

Food + Soju + Good Times

Paul – brunch

Paul is a french bakery & cafe located inside the Marriott Residence in Yeouido.  It is a very beautiful space with a quiet gentle atmosphere.  It is a popular brunch spot for couples and also I can see why women would love this place.

I did not know until I did research for this write-up but it is a large chain, with 326 in France and 127 in 24 countries.  The concept, the interior, the logo, the menu, everything was done so nicely, I knew there had to be more to the story.

Poached eggs with hollandaise sauce over potato fritters KRW 17,000.  My first impression, the food came out cold and that is a huge no-no for me.  I noticed the waiters bringing in stacks of covered plates, so the kitchen must be located separate from the restaurant.  My eggs were cold but nicely poached, the hollandaise sauce had a good tanginess, and the potato fritters were slightly undercooked but not greasy.  However, everything was bland, the eggs, the fritters, and even the salad dressing.  I was disappointed with my order.

Frittata with caramelized onions KRW 16,000.  The texture of the frittata was excellent, firm yet soft.  The caramelized onions, the dark layer at the bottom, had a strong flavor which made up for the bland frittata.

For brunch they have a special where an additional KRW 6,000 gets you a coffee and a desert of the day.  I don’t even know what to call this desert and I wasn’t paying attention because I’m not a fan of sweets but it was pretty good.

Perhaps they were understaffed that Saturday morning but the service was bad.  My cappucino was cold, as well as both main dishes.  They need to address the issue of the kitchen being separated from the restaurant.  I know I like my food with strong flavors but the food at Paul was truly under seasoned.  And it was overpriced, $50 for two people at brunch is too much!  For that money the food and service better be top-notch.

Rating:  5 out of 10.

Paul:  02-2070-3000 near Yeouido station (여의도역) exit #2, then you gotta walk a bit.

http://www.wingspoon.com/spotDetail.nhn?cityId=3339&townId=6520&spotId=13480

2 comments on “Paul – brunch

  1. Pingback: [INSIGHT] Dimple Couple and Sungmin get their lunch at PAUL Bakery Yeouido « WGM Leeteuk and Sora

  2. Juls Anne
    October 19, 2012

    One expensive restaurant again. Most of my rich friends go here instead of Starbucks.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2012 by in Brunch, French, Rating 5, Yeouido.

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 191,237 hits
